8oz Sirloin with Jalapeno Blackberry glaze and a Potato Skillet

Hey there how is everyone out there today? I can’t complain, life is going pretty well. In the last week or so I have had some real serious thoughts about the food I am eating, making, buying. Thoughts such as the best cuts of meat to buy, the best place to get my produce and how much food actually costs, along with so many other thoughts. So last night I went to the kitchen to make dinner with a whole different mind set. I went in there with the idea that “Ok, I am making dinner for someone who has never eaten my food before, what will I make for them?” and the constant repeat in my head of “make restaurant style food here at home”.

After those little thoughts made their way into my brain, they were stuck. I took out the steak I had been marinating and took a look in my fridge and cupboards and told myself that I can do this, I can make delicious restaurant style food right here at home *NO PRESSURE*. Now I dont know if all of you reading this know what I mean by ‘restaurant style food’ so let me explain. Do you ever go out to dinner and have the most incredible meal you have ever eaten and think to yourself “I can make that at home” and so you get everything at the store, go home and try to replicate what you had that one night? But it turns out NOTHING like what you had eaten at the restaurant……well that is what I mean. I have been striving to make every meal like I am in my own restaurant making a meal for someone who has never been in before and are going to be eating what I have to offer for the first time……

This is where the idea for this recipe, I am about to share with you, came from. It was the spark of a thought and the desire to create something out of this world delicious. This will take sometime so please read the whole recipe before you begin……and now if you are ready to begin……lets

This recipe is made for 2 (since there are only 2 of us in house) but you can make this for as many as you would like.  I did not add instructions for side dish besides the potatoes (we had stuffing) but green beans or brussel sprouts or corn on the cob would pair nicely along with a garden or caesar salad.

Let us begin with the marinade for the steak, I suggest marinating steak overnight, but I had forgotten so 4-6 hours is ok and don’t forget to take the steak out of the fridge 30 minutes to 1 hour before cooking.

  1. Take your steak (Sirloin in my case) and salt and pepper both sides. Now in the bowl you want to use to marinate add 1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar, 1/4 cup Lemon Juice, 1/2 cup BBQ sauce. Add the steaks to the marinade and let them sit for 4-6 hours and take out 30 mins to 1 hour before cooking.

Now that you steak has sat the required amount of time, take them out of the fridge and prepare the rest of the meal.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2-4(16 ounces)  Medium yellow potatoes–cubed (you can use russet I just like yellow, and size will vary.)
  • 4 slices Bacon–diced
  • 4 Garlic Cloves–diced
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • dash of paprika and ginger
  • Steaks
  • 2 Jalapenos–diced
  • 1/2 cup Blackberries–mashed
  • 1 Lemon–fresh squeezed juice
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Begin with chopping all ingredients first. When the potatoes have been cubed put them into a bowl and toss them with 1/2 TBSP olive oil and sea salt.
  2. Take out a large skillet and add 1 TBSP olive oil and heat on high heat. Once the oil has heated turn the burner from high heat to medium heat and add the potatoes. **While the oil is heating, you can take the jalapenos and blackberries and 1/2 of a lemon and dice together in a food processor (or in my case a mini food chopper) set aside for later. **
  3. Cook the potatoes for about 4 minutes, then add the bacon. Cook that for another 2 minutes and then add the garlic.
  4. Keep the skillet at a medium heat and don’t forget to stir the potato mixture around until the potatoes start to brown on each side.
  5. When the potatoes have reached a nice semi-golden color add the steaks to the center of the skillet.
  6. Cook each steak approx. 7 minutes on each side flip and cook another 7 minutes on the other side. *Don’t forget to turn the potatoes so they don’t burn*
  7. In a small sauce pan combine the juice of the other 1/2 lemon and the sugar. Heat on a medium-high heat and mix together until the sugar has dissolved. Add the jalapeno/blackberry mixture and heat until it cooks into a nice glaze sauce. (once all the moisture has evaporated out)
  8. Once the steak is cooked (to your liking) reduce the skillet heat to low. Take 2 pieces of tin-foil (1 for each steak) and lay about 2 teaspoons of the glaze on the foil. Next lay the steak onto the glaze. Then cover the top of the steaks with the rest of the glaze and let them rest for about 2 minutes.
  9.  Add the salt and pepper and paprika and ginger to the potatoes at this point. Mix up and keep them in the skillet on warm until you are ready to serve

Now it is time to serve.

Turn off the skillet. Take your steaks out of the foil and place on your plate. Take the potatoes and dish them up next to the steak. Add whatever other side dish you would like to pair with.

There you have it. I know it seems like a ton of work, but in all (without the marinating time) took about 45 minutes to an hour to complete from prep to plate.

DSC04296

I hope you all enjoy and let me know what you think after you have tried this. Chao!

–Whitness

Leave a Reply

