Savory Sirloins with a Potato Hash

Alright guys I have another one for you today. I did not take any pictures of this one because at first I wasn’t sure  think I was going to post it, then after a long hard thought about it, it was almost too good not to! Now I live in an apartment and so I dont have the luxury of getting to grill my steak (which is such a shame) so I cook mine in a skillet on the stove. The first thing I had to learn was the right temperature setting (on an electric stove even). I found out (after a couple fails) that medium-high heat is perfect for me. I also let my meat marinate overnight in the fridge before I cook it.

Here is my basic marinade recipe (varies for how many steaks you will be marinating) I do not measure out my marinade ingredients (I know I probably should) but here ya go if you don’t have a decent marinade recipe. ** Soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, red pepper flakes, garlic and onion powder, salt and pepper and sometimes, but not always, Teriyaki sauce.**  I also salt and pepper my meat on both sides before I add it to the marinade.  

Like I stated before, let the steak sit in the marinade for at least 24 hours, in the fridge, to soak up all the juices. And about a half hour before you get ready to cook, take it out of the fridge and let it get to room temperature.

     Now that the longest part is out of the way lets get going on that potato hash. I looked online at a couple recipes before I came up with the one I am going to share with you today. Most of them called for either regular potatoes or sweet potatoes. So I decided to use both. So the ingredients used in the hash are  *2 regular potatoes, 2 sweet potatoes skinned and cut into halves then those halves are sliced. Olive oil, 2 cloves of diced garlic  1-2 Tbsp cinnamon, 1-2 Tbsp ground ginger, 1-2 Tbsp honey.* 

**Start the potatoes right before you decide to heat the oil for the steak**

What you are going to do is heat the olive oil in a skillet, once hot add the garlic. Let that saute for about 3 minutes and then add the potatoes. Saute the potatoes until they are tender and golden brown. While the potatoes are sauteing take the honey, ginger and cinnamon and mix them together. Once the potatoes are done pour the honey mixture over all of the potatoes and let them sit on a very low heat mixing only once or twice. That is how you make the potato hash.

Hopefully now your steaks have sat out and are ready to cook, heat some olive oil on medium-high heat in the skillet you are going to cook the steak in. Let the oil get hot then throw the steaks on (now if you are using a grill these instructions you can leave out). Cook the steaks about 7-9 minutes on each side or until you have yours to the temperature you like. I personally like my steak with a bit of red, so medium.

Alright now you can make whatever greens or veggies you want to pair with your steak and potatoes, or eat just those.

I hope you all enjoy this one and please let me know how it turns out for you. Also if you have any questions or just want to let me know what you think please leave a comment below!

Thank you all —Whitness

 

Leave a Reply

